Above and Beyond to discontinue their Trance Around the World Radio Show

The legendary trance trio known as Above and Beyond are ending their classic weekly radio show. The announcement came at the tail end of their broadcast of episode 449 today. For the full story, read below.

It’s not April Fool’s Day, it’s not even Halloween anymore; but things just got shaken up in the trance music community and everyone is scrambling for an answer. On today’s 449th episode of Above & Beyond’s weekly Trance Around the World podcast, fans were in for a special treat as all three members of the group ran through the previous years of the show in a nostalgic classics episode. Throughout the podcast, we heard Anjunabeats tracks that bring back both memories and the same chills from the very first day of hearing them.

That made it all the more painful when they announced this small tidbit at the end of their cast:

Throughout the two hour time span, we heard the Gabriel & Dresden remix of the ethereal Sarah McLachlan classic ‘Fallen‘, which was played on the first ever Trance Around the World episode back in January of 2004. Also featured in on episode 449 were throwbacks such as Deadmau5’s Faxing Berlin from Episode 169, the Kyau & Albert remix of Cressida - 6am from episode 202, and even Wippenberg’s Pong from a guest mix with Cosmic Gate back in episode 292.

Above and Beyond performing their internationally renowned live act: "Group Therapy"

From old classics to new classics, Above & Beyond gave us a comprehensive timepiece of their most treasured tracks throughout the years. As ‘TATW’ trended worldwide on Twitter and the united ‘Trance Family’ all swooned over the episode, the most surprising piece of information was dropped on us at the very last minutes of the show. Closing off with the Gabriel & Dresden remix of Fallen from episode 1; Paavo, Tony and Jono collectively announced to fans that the podcast would end after their 6 hour Trance Around the World 450 celebration next week. There was no reason or explanation, just a massive bomb dropped on the hearts of trance fans listening worldwide.

The trio posted this picture to indicate their discontinuation of the Trance Around the World radio show.

Why are they ending the weekly Friday rituals of thousands of Trance Around the World fans? Will the trio be breaking up and going their separate ways? Will there be no more Above & Beyond? These are all valid questions that many of us have been asking ourselves since the abrupt announcement came through our speakers around 5pm EST. Until then, we can at least anticipate a special 6 hour broadcast next week of Trance Around the World 450 from Bangalore, India. Check the broadcast times for your city below and be sure to listen in, as it will be our last time tuning into a live episode.

Over the years Above & Beyond have taught us not to forget about a thing called love, enlightened us with Group Therapy, taught us to appreciate ‘small moments like this’, and made us feel ‘Home’. Whatever the reason for the ending of this chapter, we will forever have the music given to us through Trance Around the World in our hearts.

The full broadcast of Trance Around the World episode 449 can be heard using the player below:

Trance Around the World 450 Event Times


India IST 16:00 - 22:00

London GMT 10:30 - 16:30

Europe Mainland CET 11:30 - 17:30

NY EST 05:30 - 11:30

Chicago CST 04:30 - 10:30

LA PST 02:30 - 08:30

Singapore SGT 18:30 - 00:30

Sydney EDT 21:30 - 03:30

Buenos Aires ART 07:30 - 13:30

Johannesburg SAST 12:30 - 18:30

Update:

Update-- 6:30 PM EST 11/2/12: There have been rumors circulating that Anjunabeats will be moving under the Armada Music label. This is an unconfirmed rumor and every indication is that it is false. The "statement" was posted on a humor facebook page, which we have indicated below:


We have no official confirmation that this is false, but there is certainly no reason to believe it is true either. As soon as there is definitive proof one way or the other, we will update this page. Check back regularly for more information as it is available.